Loan Audits

Posted By: Tdollar

Loan Audits - 01/24/11 09:45 PM

Maybe I should rephrase my question. For those who do audit, do you have any tips, or forms that you could share? I am new to this and looking for any help that I can get. The loan side is what I particularly need to be focused on right now.

Thanks
smile
Posted By: Irishguy

Re: Loan Audits - 01/24/11 10:07 PM

BOL had a nice webinar last year entitled "New Headaches in Auditing Residential Real Estate Loans." The presenter even supplied an audit workprogram that was very comprehensive. But I must point out that the webinar focused primarily on compliance issues.

If you are new to audit, you may want to see about attending ICBA's auditing certification courses.
Posted By: Tdollar

Re: Loan Audits - 01/24/11 10:15 PM

Thank you! I have already put that date on my calendar. It's not until May. Would you happen to have any of the material from that Webinar? smile
Posted By: Irishguy

Re: Loan Audits - 01/26/11 04:03 PM

The Webinar can be purchased from BOL. Here is the link:

http://www.bankersonline.com/bankerstore/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=984

Even though it is archived, you will still get the materials and they are well worth it. I hope this helps!
Posted By: ahkcompliance

Re: Loan Audits - 02/07/11 09:40 PM

After performing a loan audit, do you keep your audit findings in the file? I've been comtemplating if I should keep in file to prove that I found the error but then again don't want to open up anything hoping an examiner doesn't see it??

Curious to see what others do.
Posted By: rlcarey

Re: Loan Audits - 02/08/11 12:29 AM

If you don't save your workpapers with the documented findings, sample sizes, sample populations, etc., many examiners will just totally discount the audit findings and start doing thier own digging.
Posted By: A_G

Re: Loan Audits - 02/08/11 01:57 PM

Originally Posted By: ahkcompliance