MERs

Posted By: Cornfed Turtle

MERs - 06/10/16 01:20 PM

Anyone out there do the MERs QC? This is new to us this year. I've gone thru the info on the website and devised audit procedures, but have a few questions.

We registered less than 20 of these last year and we service none of them. So when they call us a "lite" user...they aren't kidding!
Posted By: GrBo1006

Re: MERs - 07/01/16 07:00 PM

Turtle- any luck with this? Im new to MERS this year as well. We, however just hit the "big" threshold.

Re: MERs - 07/07/16 05:34 PM

No luck at all. I thought I did fairly well going thru the book of what we needed to do and what I should check. Wrote up some audit procedures and called it ready to go. I got a user ID from our Admin and thought I'd take a stab. Couldn't get in.

I emailed the help desk and got a prompt reply that we weren't due for a QC at this time. I had the help desk confirm in e-mail that I had no obligations as the auditor to perform any QC on the MERS process at this time. Don't know how much it's worth, but I'm saving that e-mail.

There's a piece of me that still wants to have our admin pull from the site and I audit. (I prefer to pull my own data, but that's a different story.) I just don't want to have any one ask me for an audit that I haven't done.

Sorry about your "big" status. We probably won't have 10 loans total this year.
Posted By: trout22

Re: MERs - 07/14/16 08:45 PM

We're also "lite" members. I conduct routine audits (semi-annual currently) to verify that each loan:
1). Meets the Security Instrument Document Requirements. This includes appropriate template language, correct identification number (MIN) placement on the first page of the document, and the MERS phone number/address within the “definitions” section.
2). Validation of the Loan Data including accurate loan information such as the property address, registration status, occupancy status, lien position, and MIN type.
and