EDP auditing

Posted By: Anonymous

EDP auditing - 12/19/02 08:44 PM

I have recently joined a community bank to head up the internal audit function (I am the only auditor at this point). I have had 30 years experience in public accounting and in industry as a controller and CFO but have had no hands-on banking experience prior to this position.

My initial charter is to redirect the bank's audit function. I have assembled most of the pieces of the function except for the one related to EDP auditing.

I am a reasonably proficient user of computer systems but do not have a technical background. I am assessing whether to recommend training for myself so that I can conduct EDP audits internally or that the bank engage an outside firm capable of conducting such audits. I like the idea of retaining technical expertise within the bank if it is reasonable to develop that expertise.

As I considered the issue, I am prejudiced to feel that our best benefit may lie with my learning as much as is reasonable about EDP auditing so that I can perform the bulk of the work, leaving only the most technical aspects to an outside expert.

I would appreciate your thoughts on the strategy. What skills would I need to develop to be effective in performing some of the audit work? What suggestions do you have for training that would help someone with my background to perform as much of the EDP audit work as is possible?

I thank you for your help.
Posted By: BANNED BY BOL MANAGEMENT

Re: EDP auditing - 12/19/02 09:17 PM

Needed expertise depends on how your bank is set up, EDP-wise. If you are in-house with an off-the-shelf system, reader-sorter, PC network, etc. you can probably do it yourself over time, but it may be wise to have an outside entity go through the entire system first.

If your bank uses in-house programmers on the primary system, don’t even think about doing the audit yourself, it’s way too risky.