Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1625041 - 11/07/11 04:03 PM Depositing checks payable to a business
Help!!! Offline
Arkansas
We have a business account that has another business operating inside. The account only has the one business name on it. Some of the checks that are being deposited are made out to the other business that is not listed anywhere on the account. I am new to the deposit side of compliance but I would think we should NOT allow checks to be deposited that are not payable to the name on the account. Where can I read information on such?

Any comments are apreciated.

Return to Top
Deposits and Payments
#1625427 - 11/08/11 12:29 AM Re: Depositing checks payable to a business Help!!!
Deputy Dawn Offline
Gold Star
Deputy Dawn
Pennsylvania
1. Your customer is XYZ Corp - you have identified XYZ Corp through your CIP process.
2. ABC Corp is not your customer - you have not identified ABC Corp through your CIP process.
3. Your contract is with XYZ Corp - not ABC Corp
4. If ABC Corp files for any of the checks that have been deposited to XYZ Corp's account, those funds will be returned to ABC Corp which could result in a loss to your bank.

If you substitute people instead of businesses, would you allow checks payable to Jane Doe to be deposited into Mary Smith's account? No

Return to Top
#1625524 - 11/08/11 02:31 PM Re: Depositing checks payable to a business Deputy Dawn
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod