Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#720571 - 04/24/07 12:51 PM Final Payment Question
emmay Offline
New Poster
emmay
NC
OK. Our teller printed astop payment form, had the customer sign it but failed to actually place the stop payment. The check was paid. Several days later we found out. I was thinking two possibilities. ONE: the maker indicated he told the payee he was stopping payment. If he told him and the payee subsequently deposited check - then we have recourse. TWO: Even if that was not true, we could takeover the position and any rights the maker had in the dispute with the payee (non performance and non delivery of a transmission). However, my boss says no to both because once we paid it as drawee bank that was FINAL PAYMENT. Really, I need guidance on what "final payment" means. Please advise because this concept goes beyond this instance and despite 25 years in the business I am unfamiliar with the term. (Have mercy on me, I am a newbie to posting)

Return to Top
Deposits and Payments
#720582 - 04/24/07 01:08 PM Re: Final Payment Question emmay
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
A discussion of "final payment" would be largely academic here; there is no question that you have finally paid the check, but that does not extinguish your right to invoke one of the UCC's protective provisions:

4-403(c) The burden of establishing the fact and amount of loss resulting from the payment of an item contrary to a stop-payment order or order to close an account is on the customer. Abridged

Before you reimburse the customer, you are entitled to the details of the transaction. If the customer can prove he was damaged by your payment over the stop payment order, so be it. In that circumstance, you may claim subrogation to the customer's rights and pursue the payee on the underlying transaction. Consider the amount involved and check with your attorney.

P.S. Welcome

Return to Top