BOL Conferences

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Thread Options
#146642 - 01/08/04 04:45 AM Meeting yourself
WildTurkey Offline
Platinum Poster
WildTurkey
Down South, USA
OK so we've all posted percentages and rankings, but how many people with your name have you met or know of?

I have worked for six companies since I graduated, and there has been somebody else with my name at half of them. It becomes quite a nuisance. Thankfully my doppelganger at my current employer recently left, so I am alone again. In fact on all three occasions the other guy has left before me.

There are also a number of other people around with my name - a US senator, a writer of inspirational/ religious books, a British journalist, a head of a teacher training college (in the UK), a banking consultant (in my field as well! ) and another guy who lives in the city where my parents still live - and my mother taught him at high school , to list the ones that I can remember off hand.

Return to Top
Chat! - BOL Watercooler
#146643 - 01/08/04 01:28 PM Re: Meeting yourself
Retired DQ Offline
10K Club
Retired DQ
Turnpike Exit 10
There are a couple of other Maria's in the branches, but I don't see them often, I only know them from the phone listing. Other than that, nope. And they said it was a popular name???

Return to Top
#146644 - 01/08/04 01:39 PM Re: Meeting yourself
DEL Offline
Platinum Poster
Maine
Even though my first name is fairly uncommon, there was another employee here with the same first and last name. It caused some confusion, especially since the name is uncommon enough that noone expects there to be two. At my previous employer, there were two other employees with first names close to mine. Precisely because my name is alittle off a more common name, people would assume they just heard wrong and direct calls to one of the others. Then one of those women left the bank, and alot of callers for me just got told "she left the bank!"

Return to Top
#146645 - 01/08/04 01:57 PM Re: Meeting yourself