Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#208728 - 07/08/04 03:46 PM need a wage increase
Anonymous
Unregistered

I've been working at this bank for 4 months. I just got married. My wife doesn't start her job for like 2 months. We can't live on the wage I'm making. Do you think it is ok to go and ask for a raise if I explain the situation. Health insurance for her and me is what is killing my pay. I am losing an entire paycheck for health insurance. I need some advice. Thanks

Return to Top
Human Resources
#208729 - 07/08/04 04:03 PM Re: need a wage increase
Jokerman Offline
10K Club
Quote:

I've been working at this bank for 4 months. I just got married. My wife doesn't start her job for like 2 months. We can't live on the wage I'm making. Do you think it is ok to go and ask for a raise if I explain the situation. Health insurance for her and me is what is killing my pay. I am losing an entire paycheck for health insurance. I need some advice. Thanks

I wouldn't hold anything against you for asking, but I would also make decisions about your pay based on the value of your contributions to the bank, not on your personal situation.

Return to Top
#208730 - 07/08/04 04:41 PM Re: need a wage increase
obx nut Offline
Gold Star
obx nut
Midwest
Perhaps your wife could find some temp work. I think it would take a lot of nerve to ask for a raise after 4 months. I would be prepared to justify it with some miracle you have performed.

The regular raises we receive and await for each year are pitiful....and no where in line with the increase in the cost of living. To ask for one after 4 months just because you got married is insane.

Sorry...just my opinion.....

Return to Top
#208731 - 07/08/04 04:46 PM Re: need a wage increase
Anonymous
Unregistered