Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#22715 - 07/05/02 02:37 PM BSA Officer Position Poll
homestar Offline
Diamond Poster
US of A
I'm interested in finding out where the BSA Officer position fits within your bank's organizational structure. If you choose, "Other," please feel free to post a reply to provide a little more information.

Thanks!

BSA Officer Posititon Poll
Compliance Department
Legal Department
Line Department (e.g. Retail, etc.)
Deposit Support Department (e.g. Bookeeping, etc.)
Other

Return to Top
General Discussion
#22716 - 07/05/02 03:08 PM Re: BSA Officer Position Poll
thomasj Offline
Power Poster
Pennsylvania
I am a BSA Officer and also Security Officer. I work under the supervision of our CEO and report to our Board of Directors via the Audit Committee.

Return to Top
#22717 - 07/08/02 12:34 PM Re: BSA Officer Position Poll
eastlane Offline
New Poster
eastlane
Missouri
Our BSA Officer reports through the holding company Retail Support unit.

Return to Top
#22718 - 07/08/02 01:23 PM Re: BSA Officer Position Poll
Richard Insley Offline
10K Club
Richard Insley
Toano, VA
We designated the highest ranking officer we could get in the Operations Division because that was where we had the greatest concentration of BSA expense.

Our philosophy was that authority, accountability and budget must go hand-in-hand. If your business activity gave rise to regulatory responsibility, then you were accountable for compliance with those rules. Along with the duty, you got the clear authority to manage the function on behalf of the company and the budget to carry out your mission. The usual disciplines of internal audit and budget-performance-based compensation held your feet to the fire.

We did NOT want accountability for compliance to rest on the compliance officer, because the compliance department had no authority to control employees in other units.

Return to Top
#22719 - 07/08/02 02:49 PM Re: BSA Officer Position Poll
Anonymous
Unregistered