Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#425412 - 09/20/05 07:28 PM Reviewing wires for suspicious activity
KC Danimal Offline
Platinum Poster
KC Danimal
Kansas City
I'm a newbie to the board, so take it easy on me . . .

We were criticized in our exam for not doing enough to review wires for suspicious activity. We review for OFAC and FATF countries and look for cash tranasactions made in close proximity to sending or receiving a wire. We also look for wire activity associated with anyone we've identified as a high-risk customer.

Any ideas on what else we can do in a manual environment (software is coming after the first of the year).

Thanks for the input.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#425413 - 09/21/05 12:27 PM Re: Reviewing wires for suspicious activity
RachelD Offline
Gold Star
I have had our wire department enter all wire info onto an excel spreadsheet. I can access that spreadsheet and use the sort function to look for patterns/trends by originator, beneficiary, etc.

Return to Top
#425414 - 09/21/05 12:44 PM Re: Reviewing wires for suspicious activity
n2vt Offline
We also have an extract into an Excel spreadsheet until next year. We sort by Originator, Beneficiary, and TIN. We also look closely at how recently the account was opened before it started wire activity and wires in/out for the similar amounts on the same or next day..

Return to Top
#425415 - 09/21/05 12:48 PM Re: Reviewing wires for suspicious activity
Hrothgar Geiger Offline
10K Club
Hrothgar Geiger
Jersey Shore
Excel is a reasonable choice since you can quickly sort by originating party and beneficiary party. (Putting them in Access will also let you search on name similarities.)
Among the patterns to consider:
So-called 'exclusive relationships': one party wiring repetitively to another.
Single originator to multiple beneficiaries.
Multiple originators to a single beneficiary.
(Note: in special cases 'single' might really be 2 or 3).
Multiple wires on the same day.