Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#544036 - 05/05/06 02:55 PM Management on Audit Committee???
Popsicle Offline
The EVP here at my bank is telling me that many banks have management as members of the Audit Committee. All the resources & training materials I have say the Audit Committee should be outside directors. I am new at internal audit, so I was hoping you all could give me some feedback about this. I'm hoping for lots of responses to be able to share with the EVP. Thanks in advance for your help!

Return to Top
Audit
#544037 - 05/05/06 03:01 PM Re: Management on Audit Committee???
Anonymous
Unregistered

We have board members and senior management, ie senior lender as members of our Audit committee.

Return to Top
#544038 - 05/05/06 04:10 PM Re: Management on Audit Committee???
Countess Kiwi Offline
Diamond Poster
Minnesota
What is the size of your bank? Our audit committee consisted of only outside directors.

Return to Top
#544039 - 05/05/06 05:00 PM Re: Management on Audit Committee???
Popsicle Offline
Our bank is a very small community bank, < $100 million. Our audit committee is all outside directors also, but it sounds like my EVP is thinking of adding someone from management.

Return to Top
#544040 - 05/05/06 06:17 PM Re: Management on Audit Committee???
Countess Kiwi Offline
Diamond Poster
Minnesota
Will you have an opportunity to discuss any issues with the audit committee without management present? At times we had management present during meetings, but they were not there for the entire meeting so that audit committee and myself could discuss any issues. If you have that time available, I wouldn't worry about having management present if that is approved. Save the sensitive items for the time you have alone with audit committee.

Return to Top
#544041 - 05/05/06 07:13 PM Re: Management on Audit Committee???
Popsicle Offline